The British Construction Equipment Forum  

Go Back   The British Construction Equipment Forum > EQUIPMENT > Technical Q&A


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1   IP: 87.113.26.255
Old 31-03-2017, 11:01 AM
grahams grahams is offline
Master of the Ninth Arch
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1,616
Default Jcb 130

Since Hewden went bust we have moved to hiring most stuff from A Plant. They supply JCB 130's nearly new. I couldn't contemplate buying one, it has been driving me mad. Key and code to start, Not just an isolator arm, but a rocker switch as well which is tempermental and don't get me started on the quick hitch - a complete nightmare. No shut off valves in the breaker circuit just above the couplers, so to change a duff one meant oil pouring out everywhere.
Which brings me to my point after that rant. We need to dump the pressure in the breaker circuit before dropping off our rotary sieve. I can't work out how to do this and we ended up with so much pressure locked in the sieve even the coupler tongs wouldn't re attach it. Anyone know the trick?
Thanks
Graham
Reply With Quote
  #2   IP: 86.169.128.165
Old 31-03-2017, 11:44 AM
V8Druid's Avatar
V8Druid V8Druid is offline
Knight of the Rose Croix of H.R.D.M
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Druid central, just East of Pandy, Nr. Abergavenny, S. Wales, UK, 3rd rock from the Sun
Posts: 13,210
Default Re: Jcb 130

Quote:
Originally Posted by grahams View Post
Since Hewden went bust we have moved to hiring most stuff from A Plant. They supply JCB 130's nearly new. I couldn't contemplate buying one, it has been driving me mad. Key and code to start, Not just an isolator arm, but a rocker switch as well which is tempermental and don't get me started on the quick hitch - a complete nightmare. No shut off valves in the breaker circuit just above the couplers, so to change a duff one meant oil pouring out everywhere.
Which brings me to my point after that rant. We need to dump the pressure in the breaker circuit before dropping off our rotary sieve. I can't work out how to do this and we ended up with so much pressure locked in the sieve even the coupler tongs wouldn't re attach it. Anyone know the trick?
Thanks
Graham
to release pressure in my aux circuits I just do the usual.....
shut machine off, turn ignition back on, drop the arm/dead man and operate that circuit a few times .... usually dumps any latent pressure in the lines

TBF .... I don't often need to do it though

Failing that Gra ...... crack a union off
__________________
If it's got tracks, wheels, t*ts, or an engine, at some point it's gonna give you trouble!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #3   IP: 185.69.144.235
Old 31-03-2017, 03:01 PM
smiffy smiffy is offline
Perfect Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 137
Default Re: Jcb 130

Check for a switch that makes no sense i think it looks like a spray it may have one it may not with engine running hold for 10seconds
The shovels and telehandlers have this now although some of them have it under the step but think if a digger had one it would be in the cab
Reply With Quote
  #4   IP: 87.113.26.255
Old 31-03-2017, 04:46 PM
grahams grahams is offline
Master of the Ninth Arch
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1,616
Default Re: Jcb 130

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8Druid View Post
to release pressure in my aux circuits I just do the usual.....
shut machine off, turn ignition back on, drop the arm/dead man and operate that circuit a few times .... usually dumps any latent pressure in the lines

TBF .... I don't often need to do it though

Failing that Gra ...... crack a union off
Tried that, but didn't make any difference. Might be because it is a one way circuit.
I had to crack a union in the end, but don't like releasing hydraulic oil on site.
Graham
Reply With Quote
  #5   IP: 86.169.128.165
Old 31-03-2017, 11:58 PM
V8Druid's Avatar
V8Druid V8Druid is offline
Knight of the Rose Croix of H.R.D.M
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Druid central, just East of Pandy, Nr. Abergavenny, S. Wales, UK, 3rd rock from the Sun
Posts: 13,210
Default Re: Jcb 130

Quote:
Originally Posted by grahams View Post
Tried that, but didn't make any difference. Might be because it is a one way circuit.
I had to crack a union in the end, but don't like releasing hydraulic oil on site.
Graham
Probably the motor not allowing any flow from the pressured line Gra ..... could've tried spinning the drum over a little manually, to allow flow from P to the T line, which is, (or should be), direct to tank on the breaker circuit ... no resistance/open line to tank, with only the tank pressure against it (very little) !!
__________________
If it's got tracks, wheels, t*ts, or an engine, at some point it's gonna give you trouble!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #6   IP: 31.185.213.2
Old 01-04-2017, 02:13 PM
grahams grahams is offline
Master of the Ninth Arch
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1,616
Default Re: Jcb 130

Quote:
Originally Posted by V8Druid View Post
Probably the motor not allowing any flow from the pressured line Gra ..... could've tried spinning the drum over a little manually, to allow flow from P to the T line, which is, (or should be), direct to tank on the breaker circuit ... no resistance/open line to tank, with only the tank pressure against it (very little) !!
That is a good thought. I've finished that job, but next time I'll try pulling the drum round manually. Be very handy if that released the pressure.
Thanks
Graham
Reply With Quote
  #7   IP: 86.169.128.165
Old 01-04-2017, 11:42 PM
V8Druid's Avatar
V8Druid V8Druid is offline
Knight of the Rose Croix of H.R.D.M
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Druid central, just East of Pandy, Nr. Abergavenny, S. Wales, UK, 3rd rock from the Sun
Posts: 13,210
Default Re: Jcb 130

Quote:
Originally Posted by grahams View Post
That is a good thought. I've finished that job, but next time I'll try pulling the drum round manually. Be very handy if that released the pressure.
Thanks
Graham
certainly worth a try Gra ..... can't be much else holding the pressure that high
__________________
If it's got tracks, wheels, t*ts, or an engine, at some point it's gonna give you trouble!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #8   IP: 86.140.132.1
Old 02-04-2017, 12:57 AM
quattromike quattromike is offline
Provost and Judge
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Speyside
Posts: 210
Default Re: Jcb 130

There would be a check valve in the attachment somewhere to stop you rotating the wrong way, this would also stop the pressure releasing. A hydraulic motor wouldn't hold any pressure for long as the are not sealed all the well it's normally just metal to metal. I normally when I shut the machine down turn off the ignition and as the engine slows and pressures drop I continually operate the auxiliary circuit to release the pressure as much as possible before the pilot pressure is gone. Doesn't always work but does help most times
Reply With Quote
  #9   IP: 86.169.128.165
Old 02-04-2017, 01:17 AM
V8Druid's Avatar
V8Druid V8Druid is offline
Knight of the Rose Croix of H.R.D.M
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Druid central, just East of Pandy, Nr. Abergavenny, S. Wales, UK, 3rd rock from the Sun
Posts: 13,210
Default Re: Jcb 130

Quote:
Originally Posted by quattromike View Post
There would be a check valve in the attachment somewhere to stop you rotating the wrong way, this would also stop the pressure releasing. A hydraulic motor wouldn't hold any pressure for long as the are not sealed all the well it's normally just metal to metal. I normally when I shut the machine down turn off the ignition and as the engine slows and pressures drop I continually operate the auxiliary circuit to release the pressure as much as possible before the pilot pressure is gone. Doesn't always work but does help most times
Gra's screen-er is on a single acting breaker circuit, with no potential for running backwards, so I doubt there is any thing, other than a CLRV, to prevent over pressuring on start up/shut off, of the motor, in its circuits.

I'd agree that the motor shouldn't in theory hold pressure for long .... if it's a gear motor ..... a piston type'd be a different animal though
__________________
If it's got tracks, wheels, t*ts, or an engine, at some point it's gonna give you trouble!!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Reply With Quote
  #10   IP: 87.113.26.255
Old 02-04-2017, 05:55 PM
grahams grahams is offline
Master of the Ninth Arch
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Southampton
Posts: 1,616
Default Re: Jcb 130

Quote:
Originally Posted by quattromike View Post
There would be a check valve in the attachment somewhere to stop you rotating the wrong way, this would also stop the pressure releasing.
You are right, there is a check valve to stop it going the wrong way. Been a pain ever since I bought this one. The four others I have are older models and run both ways. Don't hold pressure either.
If I were to find the check valve and remove it what would be the problem with running the motor backwards - works fine on the older models?
Graham
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

 
Partner Links



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.